The Two-Year Itch

Image

Hooray for FOs!! I FINALLY finished a pair of socks for my dear mother.. They’re Trilobite socks from Wendy D. Johnson’s fabulous book “Socks From the Toe Up“. I used my very first shipment from the Sunnydale Yarn Club, which is a Buffy-themed club. *nerdgasm* Colorway is Leader of the Pack. For those of you who don’t know, it’s inspired by the episode in the first season where Xander and a group of other kids get possessed by the spirits of demon hyenas. *Ahem* It was incredibly pleasant to work with, nice and soft and squooshy.

Now, the history behind these socks is one full of torment and misery. I had promised Mom I would make her a pair of socks for her birthday in September back in 2012. Yes, I know….I didn’t quite make my deadline. I just couldn’t find a pattern that I liked that came in a size L. At first I had pipe dreams of using a regular old size M and blocking the finished products out to a L, but after remembering that Mom wears a size 10 1/2, I realized how completely idiotic that idea was. I actually started and frogged two different patterns with two different yarns. One ended up being way too small (I’m an EXTREMELY tight knitter) and the other wasn’t turning out the way I thought it would. After those two dismal failures, I tucked the commitment away in the deep, dark recesses of my mind, and promptly started (and finished) at least six other projects.

Fast forward to January of this year. I figured “New Year, new leaf!” and decided to finish the damned socks once and for all. They took a lot longer than I think they normally would, but I started them a week before I left my ex-husband and moved 300 miles away from him. Mom was ecstatic to finally get them….after a lot of huffy, kind-of-pretending-but-also-kind-of-serious rude comments about how long she’d been waiting. She then asked me if she wanted to get a shawl two years from now, should she go ahead and place an order RIGHT now?

Mom has a truly magical sense of humor. And, as of two days ago, a pair of excruciatingly annoying socks.

 

Aside

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other subscriber